Company Information

Cronin Group Plc is a discovery company focussing on developing a number of projects targeting important new chemicals, materials, formulations, and pharmaceuticals in important commercial areas

We have a passion for the discovery, design, and digitization of solutions combining chemical, materials and pharmaceutical discovery, and aiming to reduce the cost and feasibility of the discovery and manufacturing process over a range of areas.

We are interested in hearing from research teams of companies with novel discovery ideas. If you are interested in finding out more about working with Cronin Group Plc please contact us at

Director Profiles

Prof. Lee Cronin
Founding Scientific Director

Professor Cronin is the Regius Chair of Chemistry in the Department Chemistry at the University. He was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and appointed to the Gardiner Chair in April 2009. He was awarded a Philip Leverhulme Prize by the Leverhulme Trust in 2007. He was awarded the Corday-Morgan medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2012. Professor Cronin has a large active group at the University of Glasgow performing cutting-edge research into how complex chemical systems, created from non-biological building blocks, can have real-world applications with wide impact. Professor Cronin has published in excess of 300 peer-reviewed articles in a number of journals and has given over 280 invited presentations at conferences and universities worldwide.

James Ede-Golightly
Non-Executive Chairman

James Ede-Golightly is chairman of East Balkan Properties Plc and Quoram Plc and has extensive experience as a non-executive on the boards of AIM-quoted companies with international business interests. James was a founder of ORA Capital Partners in 2006, having previously worked as an analyst at Merrill Lynch Investment Managers and Commerzbank. He is a CFA Charterholder and holds an MA in economics from Cambridge University. In 2012 he was awarded New Chartered Director of the Year by the Institute of Directors.

Michael Bretherton
Non-Executive Director

Michael Bretherton has considerable experience through his past directorships of private and public companies. His principal role from May 2006 to July 2014 was that of Finance Director of Channel Islands' based ORA Capital Partners Limited, an investment company with active interests in early stage growth companies. In August 2014 he became Executive Chairman of AIM listed Sarossa plc which invests in technology companies. Mr. Bretherton is a chartered accountant having trained at PriceWaterhouse and acted as Finance Director in a number of public and private firms.

Mark Warne
Non-Executive Director

Mark is currently Head of Healthcare at IP Group plc. Mark has been with IP Group plc since 2008 developing and commercialising healthcare technology innovations primarily from research intensive universities. Mark currently represents IP Group plc on the boards of a number of its life science portfolio companies. He joined IP Group plc from pre-clinical drug discovery contract research organisation, Exelgen, where he was managing director. Mark spent eight years at Exelgen (formerly Tripos Discovery Research) where he also held positions in licensing and strategic affairs, project management and research. He has a PhD in Computational Chemistry, an MSc in Colloid Science and a BSc in Chemistry, all from the University of Bristol. Mark is a Chartered Chemist and member of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Advisory Committee Profiles

Riccardo Pigliucci brings his vast experience as a life science business leader to Cronin Group Plc. He is currently Managing Partner of Aldwych Associates, LLP, a management and technology consulting partnership. Mr. Pigliucci has held executive roles including CEO of both Discovery Partners International and Life Sciences International PLC, suppliers of products and services to life science industry, and President and COO of The Perkin-Elmer Corporation, a global life sciences company. In a non-executive capacity, Mr. Pigliucci currently serves as Chairman of Medaphor PLC, a provider of advanced ultrasound training simulators for medical professionals and in recent years he has also notably been a director for Dionex, Affymetrix and Biosphere Medical.

Laurence Ede brings specific experience of the chemicals industry to Cronin Group Plc. He was the Managing Director and co-owner of Tocris Bioscience, a company producing chemical compounds for pharmaceutical research, when it was sold to Techne Corporation for £75M in 2011. Mr. Ede had previously led the Management Buyout of Tocris for £14M five years earlier and grew its value by focusing on developing the business to be an increasingly significant provider of products within the life science arena. Mr. Ede is currently a non-executive director of Ubiquigent Ltd, a drug discovery services company using research tools and chemistry to pursue ubiquitin system-focused drug discovery programmes.

Copyright © 2017 Cronin Group Plc.   Company Registered in England & Wales No. 05845469